Posted by: Caleb Butler | April 28, 2010

Kobe Bryant

As I’ve been finalizing my college application process, I have found myself thinking about the future.  About college life, even about what my career might be … When I start to question where God might place me in life, I have no idea.  I don’t exactly know what I am passionate about or where I really fit (although I have some ideas of course).  Then I came across these verses today, and I felt at peace about all of this speculation.

“Speaking the truth in love, we will in all things grow up into him who is the Head, that is, Christ.  From him the whole body, joined and held together by every supporting ligament, grows and builds itself up in love, as each part does its work.”  (Ephesians 4:15-16)

I wrote this in my journal:  “I am only one part – probably just a supporting ligament in the elbow or finger or shoulder … It’s helpful and necessary to remember I’m not here to save the world.  Jesus already did that!  I am only one small part.”

Now I’m not saying it’s easy.  But it really takes a load off to remember that I’m only one small part of the very large body of Christ.

However, the small parts are important too!  This passage clearly indicates that I have responsibilities.  A few verses before in Ephesians, we are called to be mature and grow in our knowledge of the Word.  Earlier in the chapter, it discusses keeping the unity between believers by being patient, humble, and gentle.  In short, God calls His followers to be sanctified.  And that’s just a big, churchy word for becoming a new person as God works on your heart and mind.

That brings me to Kobe Bryant.  He’s playing in the first round of the playoffs right now for the Los Angeles Lakers against the young, talented, and underrated Oklahoma City Thunder.  Kobe Bryant has been battling health issues all season long.  He’s banged up, as they say.  His right index finger is fractured, his ankle has been hurting, and one of his knees is not 100%.  Kobe Bryant is the best player on the best team, but he can’t play his best because of supporting ligaments in his body.  And the Lakers are in trouble of losing in the first round and being kicked out of the playoffs because of that!

Do you see where I’m going with this?  Even if a small part of the body isn’t functioning properly, it can affect the entire person.  I believe it’s the same with the Church.  Thankfully the Head, that is, Christ is in control.

Leave a Reply

Categories

